2016 Gawad ng Manlilikha ng Bayan Awardee Ambalang Ausalin

The call for nominations for the Gawad sa Manlilikha ng Bayan (GAMABA), which is the search for the finest traditional artists of the land, has been announced by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA).

Since its institution in 1992 through Republic Act No. 7355, the Gawad sa Manlilikha ng Bayan, also known as the National Living Treasures Award, has been given to 16 Filipinos who reflect the diverse heritage and cultural traditions that transcend their beginnings to become part of the country’s national character.

The NCCA, through an executive council, conducts the search for the finest traditional artists of the land, adopts a program that will ensure the transfer of their skills to others, and undertakes measures to promote a genuine appreciation of and instill pride among Filipinos about the genius of the Manlilikha ng Bayan. 

The National Treasure Awardees bring age-old customs, crafts, and ways of living to the attention and appreciation of Filipino life.  

They possess technical and creative skills, creating work with fine artistic quality, and ties to community and folk art traditions. They also show a strong character and unfaltering integrity, leading them to earn the respect and admiration of their people.

“They provide us with a vision of ourselves and of our nation, a vision we might not be able to realize someday, once we are given the opportunity to be true to ourselves as these artists have remained truthful to their art,” according to NCAA.

How to nominate someone for GAMABA

Individual or group nominees shall only be nominated under one category, where the artist/s has/have made his/her/their substantial contribution. Stipulated under Section 4 of the Implementing Rules and Regulations of the Manlilikha ng Bayan Act: “Group’ refers to a cluster of Filipino artisans performing certain tasks in the completion of a traditional art form identified with a cultural community.

Traditional folk categories under which nomination should be considered shall be under the UNESCO–Five Domains of Intangible Cultural Heritage: Oral Traditions and Expressions; Performing Arts; Social Practices, Rituals, and Festive Events; Knowledge and Practices concerning Nature and the Universe; and Traditional Craftsmanship.

Nominations shall be submitted on or before February 12, 2021 to:


Office of the Executive Director

National Commission for Culture and the Arts

633 General Luna Street, Intramuros, 1002 Manila


For more details, please contact Awards and Recognition Unit, through email address gamaba@ncca.gov.ph  or visit the NCCA website at http://www.ncca.gov.ph/